Chosen Steps

Standard

I’ve decided on Charlotte Kasl’s 16 Steps to Empowerment to use as a guide in my recovery.  I actually don’t believe that any steps are necessary to obtaining sobriety, 12 or otherwise.  I’m using these steps because I feel they have something to offer me personally and because I want to do them.

I’m not using the steps in the order they were written.  Right now I’m focusing on steps  9-16.  They are:

9.  We express love and gratitude to others, and increasingly appreciate the wonder of life and the blessing we do have.

10.  We continue to trust our reality and daily affirm that we see what we see, know what we know, and feel what we feel.

11.  We promptly acknowledge our mistakes and make amends when appropriate, but we do not say we are sorry for things we have not done and we do not cover up, analyze, or take responsiblity for the shortcomings of others.

12.  We seek out situations, jobs, and people that affirm our intelligence,  perceptions, and self-worth and avoid situations or people who are hurtful, harmful, or demeaning to us.

13.  We take steps to heal our physical bodies, organize our lives, reduce stress, and have fun.

14.  We seek to find our inward calling, and develop the will and wisdom to follow it.

15.  We accept the ups and downs of life as natural events that can be used as lessons for growth.

16.  We grow in awareness that we are interrelated with all living things, and we contribute to restoring peace and balance on the planet.

This week I met with a counselor through Vocational Rehabilitation.  I found out that I can be accepted into the program and that all training and/or schooling to further my education and move me into a better work situation will be covered by the program.  Steps 12, 13, 14.

Last week I ran into a previous employer of mine who mistreated me in several ways and significantly contributed to my mental and financial downward spiral.  I briefly re-experienced the feelings of rejection and invisibility that situation prompted at the time.  I also realized that I’m over it, over the things he did to me, and that my own actions also contributed to the situation and my subsequent problems.  Steps 10, 11, 12. 15.

Everyday I begin my day by thanking the Creator, gods, goddesses, spirits and allies for being with me and that I have another day to live sober.  Steps 9 and 16.

I play with my kitten, enjoy collecting eggs from my new hens, bought some herbs to plant, and absolutely revel in making love with my partner.  Steps 13 and 16.

I attend support meetings and participate in my on-line sobriety group.  Step 12.

I write here.  All of them!

Thank you for visiting Eclectic Recovery.

Leave a Reply

